Thergothon was one of Niko Skorpio’s earliest music projects, formed 1990 and disbanded 1993. Subsequently the underground doom/death metal group subsequently gained notable cult status in the extreme metal scene. Thergothon is often credited as a pioneer of the funeral doom subgenre. Two recordings were completed and released.

Fhtagn-nagh Yog-Sothoth

Demo, recorded November 1991.
First released as a self-published cassette in 1991.

01 – Elemental
02 – Evoken
03 – Yet the Watchers Guard
04 – The Twilight Fade

Niko Skorpio, Jori Sjöroos, Mikko Ruotsalainen, Sami Kaveri.

Lyrics by Niko Skorpio. Music by Thergothon.
Art direction & illustrations by Niko Skorpio.

Stream from the Heavens

Album, recorded October–November 1992.
First released on CD by Avantgarde Music, Italy 1994.

01 – Everlasting
02 – Yet the Watchers Guard
03 – The Unknown Kadath-in-the-Cold-Waste
04 – Elemental
05 – Who Rides the Astral Wings
06 – Crying Blood + Crimson Snow

Niko Skorpio, Jori Sjöroos, Mikko Ruotsalainen.

Lyrics by Niko Skorpio. Music by Thergothon. Recording engineer Markus Patrikainen. Art direction and typography by Niko Skorpio. Front cover photo by Keijo Sirkiä.

Through the Pits of Time

3x tape compilation boxset
Released on Darkness Shall Rise Productions, Germany 2019.

Tape 1 – Fhtagn-nagh Yog-Sothoth – demo 1991

Tape 2 – Stream from the Heavens – album 1992

Tape 3 – private rehearsal recordings made on 4-track recorder, summer/autumn 1991:
01 – Dancing in the Realm of Shades
02 – Yet the Watchers Guard

The boxset contains the complete surviving recordings by Thergothon on tape format. Includes a 80-page booklet with photos, art and extensive liner notes detailing the history of the group.

The most meaningful to me personally is the lengthy piece of text I wrote for the box set, collecting all my memories related to Thergothon from the period of 1990–1993. It includes quite a bit of trivia previously unsaid as well as some awkward things I’d rather have forgotten… but it’s all there for the sake completion. Everything I can say about the subject matter is in that box. So in the future if someone still has some questions I’ll just refer to this text. Mission accomplished on that front!

Niko Skorpio

Thergothon - Through the Pits of Time
Thergothon - Through the Pits of Time
Thergothon - Through the Pits of Time